I still feel badly about it….

Seoul log: Hongdae 

It was one of my first nights out in Seoul and I decided to go to a meetup groups event. It was I think 10,000 won which included some food items and free entrance into a club. Upon arriving I was really frustrated. I was in heels and could not find the place for two hours! TWO HOURS! Luckily I had left an hour early to find the place because I thought I would have difficulties on the subway. I grab my favorite easy drink, a Smirnoff, and some guy came to say hi to me. I was a little taken back because his face looked familiar, but I could not place him (If I think people look familiar it will drive me crazy if I don’t place them or remember there name). Then his friend comes up to me and asks me if I wanted to sit with them because they had space. I was really awkward, but I wanted to know how I knew this guy. They asked me a bunch of questions and then the first guys says…well you know that I know you right? I was really confused. I said, yes you look familiar, but I’m not sure how I know you. He then proceeds to take out his phone and scrolls through Kakao Talk. I am really getting uneasy at this time because if I recognize your face, but can’t place you…it probably means that I blocked or hid you from my list. 

Just like I thought. He pulls me up and says “is this you?” I was super shocked at that moment because he definitely had my kakao. He then asked if we could take some pictures together and I said sure I guess. We took three together and then one with his friend too. He said that they had to leave because they were meeting up with other people, but he said that he would send the pictures to me right now. I watched as he sent them and I did not get any of them. He waited a bit and was like….you really didn’t get them? I said no, I’m sorry, but I must have hid you or delete you because you didn’t talk to me anymore. He was just like oh well that’s okay. Maybe I will see you again here next time because I have to go. 

I felt like one of the worst people in the WORLD! I could not believe that I had blocked that guy! I even went through the process of UNBLOCKING EVERYONE! Seriously! I unblocked, un-hid, and went through my list to see if he popped up…he did not. I never saw that guy again and I went back to the same place three more times. I really hope that he doesn’t think I am a rude person. I really am not sure why I would have deleted him, but he seemed like a great guy in person. Plus I would have loved to have those pictures for the photo album I’m creating. 

So now I don’t delete people. I only hide them and even that freaks me out sometimes. I recently deleted everyone off my chat list and am only talking to people who message me. I have maybe 7 people out of the over 100 I had on my chat list. I started two weeks ago with 5….My friends are obviously not very communicative.  >_<

Leave a Reply

