The end of the first chapter: Goodbye Korea

Well as many of you know…I still have one semester left of college and thus I had to return home. South Korea will truly be missed by me. I am glad I got to say my goodbye my way and just walked around town for a bit. I ended up going to hang out with Abi and Justin from the world of Youtube at “Thursday Party.” It was one of the best nights I have had while being in Korea and I definitely thank them because it made my last night much better. I did not sleep before my flight…how could I? Plus I knew that I would have a 23 hour layover. 

Speaking of layover, I am in Tokyo, Japan right now typing this. I did not realize that I would have to leave the airport and get a hotel. I always hear about people sleeping in the airport and that’s what I was going to do. I was going to rent one of the day bed things they had and shower there, but all of those were full. My flight back to the Texas leaves in about 3 1/2 hours from now and I am very ready to be home. 

Don’t get me wrong I love S. Korea, but when I get home that means I can finally finish my teaching certification, college, and work on getting back to Korea. I am shooting for January and I was already offered a teaching position at a Hagwon, but I told them I still had to graduate from college. Also I want to do my Master’s Degree online as well as take Korean Language classes when I return to Korea. 

There will be many things that I will really miss, especially the many friends that I had made. If you are going to South Korea this Fall and plan on going to the Hongdae or Gangnam Language exchanges…be good to my friends they mean the world to me and I hope you can become good friends with them as well. Being away from them will definitely be one of the hardest parts because I built so many close bonds.

Other things that I will miss:

Vending Machines: There vending machines are so much better than ours! They have vitamin drinks, sports drinks, milk tea, and soda (they are all in one machine!). They even have those coffee and tea dispensing machines! I think we have coffee ones, but I have never seen a tea one in Texas. 

Toilet: I say toilet because I have become so used to throwing my toilet paper in the trash can. Every public place you go there are signs that say to not throw your toilet paper in the toilet because it could clog it. I thought it was so strange to not put it in the toilet at first, but now it has become second nature.

Showers: Okay I think I may have complained about this at first,but I know I will really miss those showers. Having everything connected was not as bad as I thought it would be. Yes sometimes it was annoying because I accidentally got my other clothes wet, but I feel like I showered more quickly because of it. I also like that they all have spray hoses connected. It made washing my hair that much easier. 

Walking: I say this because I drive EVERYWHERE in Texas except when I’m on campus and have to walk to each of my classes. I will definitely miss being able to walk to a subway station to travel to a new city. Now I will go back to sitting in traffic and dealing with maniacal drivers. I do plan on driving someday in Korea, but after my Korean gets to an intermediate/upper level. 

FOOD: You know that I love food and I especially loved all the Korean food! It was so delicious and made me feel so light. I already had some food here in Japan and my stomach is really upset. Looks like I will be fighting my body for a bit in the area of food. I can’t even eat that much food anymore which is a good thing. I’m excited to go out and try the Korean food in my state. I didn’t really try very much, but now I can really do a comparison. 

Goodbye South Korea…See you next year!

2 comments on “The end of the first chapter: Goodbye Korea

Leave a Reply

