What do I miss?

Well yesterday I thought I uploaded the short Language Cast clip I had for you guys, but it did not go. I will try to do that later today or tomorrow.  

Now I have been asked this question so many times from my Korean friends. They always ask me if I miss my family or my friends back at home. When I say that I do sometimes they are shocked and then ask me more questions. 

When I first arrived it felt like I was at home. Just far away from my family and too lazy to drive to see them. I didn’t really feel like I was in a different country other than hearing people speak or the signs in Hangul, but I do miss somethings about the states and so here they are:

My family: Of course I would miss them, but not as much as others would. I just really miss my nieces and nephews. There are two that I spend a ton of time with and I have many pictures with them. I have helped my sister raise them so it is only normal that I would miss them the most. Then of course my siblings and parents too, but I can handle not seeing them for a long time as long as I can talk to the every once in a while.

My friends: I have several really close friends that I did everything with. Even though I have made new friends I still really miss them because everyone is different and special in their own ways. I realized how little time I will have with them when I return back home too so it’s making me a little sad, but I know that they will always be there for me and that is a true friend. 

My bed!!: Okay, I did not mind these Korean beds at first, but wow. I really miss my super comfortable bed. I honestly think if I had a foam mattress pad that I would be okay, but right now…I really miss it. 

My apartment: Okay living alone is something I really enjoy in my life. I didn’t mind living in the dorm because it felt like an apartment since I had my own room, but my apartment back home is pretty large. I really have missed having a place that was clean and being able to have room to workout! I think I have missed working out more than anything. I know that I have lost some weight here, but working out and seeing the results from it is always nice. I will definitely start my at home workouts back up when I return.

School Life: Even though I was in school here I really missed being at UT Arlington. I only have about 4 months left to enjoy that school and I being here made me realize how much I will miss it once I graduate. I’m excited to go back home and for classes to begin because that means I’m almost done. Funny I say that because I want to continue my education and do an online Master’s program in TESOL so I will still be working hard after I finish. 

There’s a great many things to do in life and a lot of people who cross your path. You should always go with what your heart tells you and never give up on yourself nor your dreams. I have wasted many years not following my dreams and allowing someone else to dictate my life. Once I let go of their hand I felt so free and part of my dream came true. I made it to Korea and had one of the best times of my life. My heart feels gay and my face glows from joy.

Enjoy your life and reach for the stars! You can do anything you put your mind to! So go out and grab your future! 

Leave a Reply

