The End is Near…

Tuesday 7/23/13 Thoughts:

Well I only have 3 1/2 weeks left here and it just really hit me. That means I can only attend 6 more language exchanges and I don’t have much time to try to get other things done. I am behind by a week on my teaching certification and classes seem to be engulfing me with homework. 

We got our midterm grades back and I didn’t do as well as I expected for my East Asian Cinema class, but I passed and for that I am grateful. Classes are in no way “easy” here compared to the states. I actually think these are more challenging because Yonsei is such a prestigious school. I sometimes think that I am in an advanced placement class because of how intense these classes seem. I do understand that they are trying to cram a semesters worth of information into 5 weeks so it makes sense. It’s just a tad bit overwhelming for me.

I have hardly been getting sleep here, but I love every minute of it. I would not change this summer for anything and I really hope that many of you get an opportunity like this as well. I was actually really tempted to get rid of Facebook while I was here because it can sometimes be a distraction, but it has proven to be a good connection point for all of us participating in the summer program.

There is so much to do in this country and so much I haven’t done. I am hoping that my last week here will be as great as the first minus getting lost. I’m hoping for the best and for great grades as well. I may end up leaving here with a new camera…we will see what happens.

Tips:

Stay healthy: There are so many people who have been sick or are getting sick and that’s the last thing you would want for you summer overseas. Be sure to bring some Ibuprofen, cough medicine, and anything you know that you need if you have allergies. I believe I already said all of this in a previous post, but it’s so important. I think the biggest thing is HYDRATION! Stay HYDRATED! It’s so easy to do that here because water is so cheap! I love it! I buy so much water in the states because I work out a ton and I was in shock when I saw the water prices here. Only 500-1200 Won a bottle most of them being 500 or 850 WON which is under a dollar.

It is quite a beautiful life here and I love it.

3 comments on “The End is Near…

  1. I’ll be there for a full semester and beginning to think it still wont be long enough!

    I watched several youtube videos of other people and noticed how often sick they were! Can you bring non prescription meds like that there??

    Really appreciate this blog and will take aot of the advice given. I do have a question regarding the Gilman scholarship, did you get it and if so do you have any advice regarding the personal statement essay??

    • yes I did get the scholarship! I will say for the personal statement what I was told was to think of something that sets you apart from others. Why you want to study abroad, any hardships that you may have had, and future goals. I believe I talked about how being a minority affected what people perceived of me and that I felt I constantly had to fight for recognition or something like that. I don’t remember exactly and it’s on my flash drive which I currently do not see. Also my university had a session that gave us ideas and notes about the scholarship. I hope this helped some

      oh and I wanted you to know that I have met people who have been here for 2 years and they are about to leave next month. They are having a hard time dealing with it and I will write more about things soon, but it is definitely getting harder as the time here gets shorter

    • yes I did get the scholarship! I will say for the personal statement what I was told was to think of something that sets you apart from others. Why you want to study abroad, any hardships that you may have had, and future goals. I believe I talked about how being a minority affected what people perceived of me and that I felt I constantly had to fight for recognition or something like that. I don’t remember exactly and it’s on my flash drive which I currently do not see. Also my university had a session that gave us ideas and notes about the scholarship. I hope this helped some

      oh and I wanted you to know that I have met people who have been here for 2 years and they are about to leave next month. They are having a hard time dealing with it and I will write more about things soon, but it is definitely getting harder as the time here gets shorter

Leave a Reply

