Solo Adventures…

I don’t know if you know this, but I actually don’t spend a lot of time with other people. I mean I did before classes started, at least I tried my best to spend time with friends because I knew that I would become really busy with school work. Almost every day I get asked if I want to go out to some place or if I want to do something, but I always end up turning people down. Right now it’s mostly just because of classes and trying to keep up with this bundle load of readings that I have to do each day, the teacher certification, and my urge to study the Korean language. On weekends I have a different reason for not going too many places with other people. I like to hear myself think. What? Ren, do you talk to yourself? HAHAH Yes, sometimes I do, but it’s not spoken aloud it’s an inner conversation mostly arguing with myself about what to write in this blog. That seems really weird right? Well on weekends it’s now my only real chance to soak in nature, watch people, and understand this world around me. One of the more normal reasons is that it gives me a chance to meet new people more easily. Does this make sense? Probably not, but in my head it somehow does, but then again I’m already a really outgoing person who loves meeting new people. Why are you telling us this? I am informing you so that you can consider going out alone because sometimes people are not going to want to go anywhere with you or they may just be too busy and I don’t want you to put your life on hold because you are afraid to go out alone (of course I don’t mean to go walking through the woods at night by yourself or something like that). I found that getting used to traveling around alone is a very good thing to do. My heart and mind feel at ease when walking and I don’t feel like I have to look over my shoulder every ten minutes to make sure no one is following me. Ren? Yes? You did have someone follow you before  and you are talking about feeling at ease walking around alone, are you crazy? I am not crazy, I am just a normal human being who does not believe in letting fear get the best of me. I don’t want to be afraid of going out because of something someone might do. I would rather go out without worry and if something happens to already have a plan in my head to overcome in those situations. 

Anyway, my day was grand since I went to a Noraebang (노래방-Karaoke) with some new friends and it was amazing! I actually thought that my voice was gone because I had not really been talking very much, but I guess I was just being overly cautious of my throat this time. I am pretty sure that I only sang 4 songs, Adele “Someone like you”, Avril Lavigne “My Happy Ending”, Nicki Minaj “Super Bass”, and the song the guys chose for me first…Jason Mraz “I’m yours.” I don’t know the name of any of the songs the guys sang because they were all in Korean and I can’t remember them, but I will say that it was hilarious listening to and watching them. 

I realized that some of the best times I have had here in Korea were with people I just met. They have no preconceptions of how you act or how you should be so I think it’s easier to truly be yourself around people. For some…it’s easier to pretend to be something you’re not then to be yourself, but as for me I am striving to always show my true colors in every situation. I don’t want to change who I am to fit someone else’s ideas of how women should be, act, or speak. I am me and I’m happy with who I am. You should be happy with who you are too. 

Tips:

Try to communicate in the spoken language. In my case that would mean attempting to speak Korean. The guys I went to the Noraebang with had very broken English. They understood more than they could speak, but it was fun watching all three of them communicate to come to a general understanding of what I was saying. Luckily I remembered a good deal of Korean vocabulary (thank you TTMIK!) and I was able to understand a bit of what was said. If you want to improve in a language you have to practice it. There is no better way to get in practice than to be in the country and use it. If you’re like me and don’t like saying the wrong thing, study harder! 

내일 봐요 (see you tomorrow)…

Leave a Reply

