When it rains….

Yes today was the first day of classes and I was so excited that I could not sleep last night. I got maybe 3 hours if that. The really bad part was that rain was pouring down and trying to drown us all. The skies were really crying today and I was in shorts with sandals on. I thought the sandals were a great idea in the rain, but with the steep hills the shoes came off several times. On the way to my last class they came off again in the mud! How disgusting. Here are my classes and my first impressions of the class based on the Professors.

Pre-Modern Korean History: The Professor seems to be really good and enjoys her life, but the work…wow…the reading is already 27 pages out of one book and 17 out of another. I was just not prepared for that, especially since I wasn’t able to get the book early. It’s okay because I can get it done, but at the same time this class makes me nervous. 

I have a break after that class and I went to eat lunch with friends. I had a bulgogi with rice bowl meal and it was absolutely disgusting. Luckily, one of my new friends named Jessica had ordered a cheese pizza and could not eat it all! It was absolutely wonderful and I may have to get that tomorrow. 

East Asian Cinema: I’m not really sure about all the definitions and such used for film because I’m a Theatre Major, but I have heard some of them. From my understanding this class is like a film analysis class, which I’m glad to take because next semester I will be doing Script Analysis.I think it will help me get used to that kind of writing for the future. 

Korean Culture & The Cultural Wave: I think this class is the most exciting one I have. I don’t mean any offense to any of the other classes or Profs., but this one touches on three things I want to know more about. Music in Korea, Korean Culture in the world, and where did K-pop come from and what does it really consist of. Interestingly enough the Professor of this class has her degree in Theater Studies.

What I liked most about my classes was that all my Professor are from pretty well known Universities! That means that I know I am getting some of the best teachers out there to teach me. I’m thrilled to be apart of this summer program and I look forward to working the A+ this summer.

I did start doing my teacher certification online and it really will be a challenge trying to balance classes and the certification, but I’m going to buy a planner (can’t believe I forgot mine at home) tomorrow so that I can chart out times for things. 

 

Tips:

This is more of just information- I was told that the Korean Language Placement test was in all Korean and it was maybe 150 pages or so. It goes from fairly basic to intermediate to more challenging things to place you. I believe that they all receive there class placements tomorrow. 

Oh, RAIN BOOTS? A lot of people were saying that they wish they could go get rain boots, but they had not seen them sold here. If you plan on being here through the summer and love your rain boots be sure to bring them. I know that some people wear those in the snow too so you can do that too if you are into that fashion. 

If you have any questions feel free to shoot me a comment or email. 

Videos are up on youtube!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lY-Mv6Dc7Ro (super short clip of …)

http://youtu.be/lrxZcxQS3C8  Really good dancing happens in Hongdae!

Leave a Reply

